This walk of faith is a JOKE!

This is a really exciting week!  You know why?  Because you have taken time to stop with the business of your day and read this!  You are going to be glad you did, so please keep reading.

Last week we talked about how to hear God talk “audibly” to us.  I am hoping you found yourself looking for ways to see and hear Him show up for you during your week!

Some of you may think, “This walk of faith is a total JOKE!  There’s no way God could use me with the past I have.”  Maybe even this past weekend included something that has had conviction knocking on your heart’s door.  Possibly, you love reading about others walk of faith, but you just can’t see that happening for you.  You think, “Well, it’s all for the better.  We are too busy with work and sports and family anyway”, maybe you feel you aren’t good enough, or just maybe you like living the way you choose.

But wait.  When you read about this amazing thing that God is calling someone to do or you see God moving deliberately in someone’s life, why is it you feel a pang of disappointment, a “let down”, maybe even resentment?  What do they do differently than you?  Why are they so “special”?  They must never live a “sinful” life for God to use them like that.

As a lot of you may know, my husband and I’s move to our current state was an act of faith.  God is asking us to, once again, take another step of faith and move to Charlotte, NC, in His timing.   While living here these past two years, God has taught me (and us) many things.  My husband and I have never felt so much peace and joy, in having so little, in our almost 13 years of marriage.  We just couldn’t understand it!  I distinctly remember having some quiet time one morning while everyone else was asleep.  I prayed this exact prayer, “God, I just feel so special.  I am amazed that you have reached down from Heaven and picked our family to go on this adventure!  Why didn’t you put this in someone else’s heart?  Why ours?!  I was baffled at how amazing God was and is and sat there in awe that He would ask us to start this journey of complete faith.  What a privilege.

And then God did what only He can do.  He smacked me up side the head.  In my heart I heard God say (ok, I’m going to paraphrase what I think He would’ve said to me if He was sitting on the couch next to me), “You have pride issues that you need to get in check.  I didn’t reach down from Heaven and look at all the people in this world and decide that you were so “perfect” and “loved me the most” that I would choose you for this adventure.  You see, the love that I have for you is the same amount of love that I have for every single person I created.  You see, I love that person who just isn’t able to put down that joint, I love that soul who keeps sleeping around to try and find love, and I love that man or woman who steals and cheats and lies to try and get somewhere in life.  I love you each the same.  No, my child, what happened is you looked UP and chose Me.  I have this adventure in store for every single person who is willing to step out in faith and obedience and say yes to ME!  I have a great adventure planned for each person, if only they would say yes, because I have already chosen them.”  

John 15:16

“You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit…”

Wow.  What nasty pride I had and how humbled I felt as God put me in my place.  In that moment, I was stunned to see that God has this great adventure for not only our family, but for yours too!

Will you say yes to Him?  Will you stop running and start giving Him some time during your day? Will you leave fear in the dust and start living a life of adventure?  When you do this you will start to see that this “walk of faith” that was such a joke in your mind will slowly become the most adrenalin rushing, fear crushing, joy filled adventure you have ever experienced.

So get out there and start accepting your “Walk of Faith with Abandon!”

3 thoughts on “This walk of faith is a JOKE!

    • Amen Jen!! This IS your story…you get out there, dig your feet in, and let them see what an amazing person and family you are. God will bless you and see your efforts! Keep pressing on! xoxo

      Like

  1. Once again thank you for igniting my “faith journey” reminding me of our Lord’s endless love for each one of us.
    Love you
    Patty

    Like

What did you think?!